Australian Wine Design Competition Awards 2012 at The Winery

The winners of the Australian Wine Design Competition 2012 were announced at a special presentation soirée held at The Winery in Sydney’s Surry Hills.

Hosted by the Keystone Group and in conjunction with the Association of Australian Boutique Winemakers, Lisa McGuigan, Chair of the national judging panel and Judith Kennedy (CEO) presented the winners with their trophies.

Australian Wine Design Competition
The Winning Labels (Photo Credit: Luke Latty)

Taylor’s Wines won Australia’s Best Wine Bottle category with its Winemakers Project Clare Valley GSM 2010 and a $5000 label production prize from CCL Clear Image with The Collective Design Consultants as the designer.

L-R: Mitchell Taylor (Taylors Wine), Lisa McGuigan (CHAIR), Andrew Wilson (MD, CCL Clear Image), Judith Kennedy (CEO)

Kalleske, a boutique wine company from the Barossa won the best Dessert Bottle in the Open Class with their in-house design.

Troy Kalleske, Kalleske Wines with Lisa McGuigan

The winners and designers are listed below:

  • Best Wine Bottle: Taylors Wines Clare Valley TWP Clare Valley GSM 2010 by The Collective Design Consultants.
  • Boutique Spark: Niccolo Wines Adelaide Hills Sparkling Prosecco  2011 by KS Design Studio.
  • Boutique White: Shottesbrook Vineyard McLaren Vale Single Vineyard Chardonnay 2010 by Shedspace
  • Boutique Red: Smith & Hooper Wrattonbully Merlot 2009 by KS Design Studio.
  • Open Class Spark: Grant Burge Barossa + Eden Valley NV Sparkling Pinot Noir Chardonnay by  Fiona Bavage with Helen Burge
  • Open Class White: Yalumba Barossa  Cristobel’s Barossa Classic Dry White 2011 by Harcus Design.
  • Open Class Red: Peter Lehmann Wines  Barossa Eden Valley Shiraz, The Hill & Valley Series 2010 by KS Design Studio.
  • Open Class Dessert: Kalleske Barossa JMK VP Shiraz 2009 by In House
  • Over 500 Ton White: Taylor’s Wines Clare Valley Crooked Horse Semillon Sauvignon Blanc 2010 by The Collective Design Consultants.
  • Over 500 Ton Red: Taylors Wines Clare Valley TWP Clare Valley GSM 2010 by The Collective Design Consultants.
  • Designer’s Original: Virgin Wines Australia Surry Hills, Sydney The Wandering Frenchman Pinot Noir 2010 by Virgin Wines Australia. James David

The Winery

The awards event was held on Tuesday 15 May 21012 at The Winery in Surry Hills.

The Winery
285A Crown Street
Surry Hills NSW 2010

Gourmantic attended the event as media guests.


This article is posted on - All rights reserved - Copyright © 2018.

About the author

Corinne Mossati

Corinne Mossati is the Founder/Editor of popular online magazine Gourmantic and Cocktails & Bars, a website dedicated to cocktail culture and the discerning drinker. She is named in Australian Bartender Magazine’s Top 100 Most Influential List since 2013, is a member of The Academy responsible for judging the World’s 50 Best Bars. She has also judged the inaugural Australasian Whisky Awards and various national cocktail competitions.

1 Comment