Time Out Sydney Bar Awards Winners 2016

The Time Out Sydney Bar Awards for 2016 were announced at an awards ceremony held at Sky Terrace at the Star with the Lobo Plantation taking out Bar of the Year.

Time Out Sydney Bar Awards Winners 2016

Here are the winners in each category:

BAR OF THE YEARLobo Plantation

BEST BAR TEAM – Winner: Earl’s Juke Joint; Highly Commended: The Lobo Plantation

BEST BARTENDER – Winner: Jimmy Irvine from The Baxter Inn; Highly Commended: Tom Egerton from Eau de Vie

BEST BAR FOOD – Winner: Sokyo Lounge; Highly Commended: Surly’s

BEST WINE BAR – Winner: 121 BC; Highly Commended: Monopole


BEST PARTY BAR – Winner: Goodgod Small Club; Highly Commended: Goros

BEST NEIGHBOURHOOD BAR – Winner: The Bearded Tit; Highly Commended: Wilhelmina’s

BEST NEW BAR – Winner: This Must Be the Place; Highly Commended: Dead Ringer

BEST COCKTAIL BAR – Winner: Eau De Vie; Highly Commended: Bulletin Place

HOT TALENT AWARD – Winner: Rachelle Hair – The Baxter Inn; Highly Commended: Nathan Pepper – Papa Gede’s

THE PARTY STARTER AWARD – Winner: Astral People; Highly Commended: Picnic

LEGEND AWARD – Clover Moore – The Lord Mayor of Sydney

The Time Out Sydney Bar Awards Winners 2016 were held on Sunday 6 December 2015.

Photo © by Kevin Burke for Gourmantic – Copyright: All rights reserved.


This article is posted on - All rights reserved - Copyright © 2018.

About the author

Corinne Mossati

Corinne Mossati is the Founder/Editor of popular online magazine Gourmantic and Cocktails & Bars, a website dedicated to cocktail culture and the discerning drinker. She is named in Australian Bartender Magazine’s Top 100 Most Influential List since 2013, is a member of The Academy responsible for judging the World’s 50 Best Bars. She has also judged the inaugural Australasian Whisky Awards and various national cocktail competitions.